THE CLEAN MATERIALS TECHNOLOGY GROUP
UCL CHEMISTRY DEPARTMENT

       
People

In 2000, the Clean Materials Technology Group was set up (originally at Queen Mary, University of London) to conduct multidisciplinary research in Green Chemistry and Healthcare.  In particular, the use of emerging technologies such as 'Supercritical Fluids' and the development of low cost biomedical materials and nanoceramics. "In each case, the use of a supercritical fluid in an application, must be selected to give a real advantage or enhancement over a more conventional (and probably easier) process or technology." Since the group was established, research has expanded to other areas including manufacture of advanced composites to nanoparticle electronic / optical materials.

In 2007, the group moved to UCL Chemistry Department (Kathleen Lonsdale Building) where the emphasis was more centred more on the use of supercritical water for high throughput nanomaterials syntheses and new materials discovery, scale up processes and biomaterials. 

For current research click here



Listed below are the contact details for members of the Clean Materials Technology Group at UCL.


Staff

Professor Jawwad A. Darr
Professor in Materials Chemistry, CMTG Group Leader
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4345 | email: j.a.darr@ucl.ac.uk

Post Doctoral Research Associates

Dr Peter Marchand
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4312 | email: peter.marchand.10@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Paul Dingwall
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4312 | email:p.dingwall@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Liam McCafferty
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4312 | email:l.mcafferty@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Alistair Holdsworth
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4312 | email: a.holdsworth@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Marco Bersani
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4312 | email:

PhD Students

Neel Makwana
Final year PhD
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4312 | email: n.makwana@ucl.ac.uk

Ben Robinson
Final year EngD with TWI
Based at TWI Cambridge | email: zccad78@ucl.ac.uk

Jessica Ellis
Final year IMPACT-funded PhD
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4312 | email:
j.l.ellis.12@ucl.ac.uk

Clement Denis
Second year PhD
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4312 | email: c.denis@ucl.ac.uk

Kalyani Gupta
Second year PhD
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4312 | email:
kalyani.gupta.09@ucl.ac.uk

Ian Johnson
Second year EngD
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4312 | email:
ian.johnson.13@ucl.ac.uk

Charlotte Maughan (second supervisor)
Second year PhD
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4312 | email: charlotte.maughan.13@ucl.ac.uk

Mechthild (Meggi) Lubke
First year PhD (with A*STAR Singapore)
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4312 | email: mechthild.lubke.13@ucl.ac.uk

Dougal Howard
First year PhD
tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4312 | email:dougal.howard.13@ucl.ac.uk

Masters Students

TBC for 2014/2015


Alumni

PDRA  
2012 - 2013 Dr Chris Ireland
2012 - 2013 Dr Rob Gruar
2012 - 2012 Dr Liang Shi
2011 - 2012 Dr Muhammad Nadeem Asghar
2011 - 2012 Dr Raul Quesada
2011 - 2011 Dr Muhammad Usman
2011 - 2011 Dr Aqif Chaudhry
2009 - 2013 Dr Josie Goodall
2009 - 2012 Dr Chris Tighe
2008 - 2009 Dr Kenan Gong
2006 - 2009 Dr T. Lin
2006 - 2009 Dr S. Kellici
2005 - 2006 Dr T. Kuzmenko
2005 - 2006 Dr Y. Soman
2004 - 2006 Dr Andrew Hebb
   
PhD  
2010 - 2014 On Ying Wu
2012 - 2012 Mr Amin Rashid (visitor)
2007 - 2012 Rob Gruar
2007 - 2012 Sam Alexander
2007 - 2012 Sofia Elouali
2006 - 2010 Kathryn Thompson
2006 - 2009 Josie Goodall
2005 - 2008 Xialoe Weng
2005 - 2008 Zhice Zhang
2005 - 2008 Aqif Chaudhry
2004 - 2008 Paul Boldrin
2004 - 2008 Kenan Gong
2002 - 2005 Saba Haque
2002 - 2005 Suela Kellici
2002 - 2005 Sonia Partap
2001 - 2004 Monisha Phillips
   
Masters  
2013 - 2014 Jasmin Kaur
2013 - 2014 Dougal Howard
2013 - 2014 Eleanor Jones
2013 - 2014 Mengzheng Ouyang
2012 - 2013 Leena Keshishian
2012 - 2013 Jonelle Johnson-Turner
2012 - 2013 Jun Ma
2012 - 2013 Zheng Ling
2012 - 2013 Paula Tartelin (with Professor Ivan Parkin)
2011 - 2012 Huihan Gao
2011 - 2012 Qiuyun Guo
2011 - 2012 Florent Fouche
2011 - 2012 Fahad Syed (second supervisor)
2011 - 2012 Amir Afrashtehpour
2011 - 2012 Arailym Nurpeissova
2011 - 2012 Emily Glover
2011 - 2012 Ian Godfrey
2010 - 2011 Marion Brooks-Bartlett
2010 - 2011 Neel Makwana
2002 - 2004 Jun Lin Yin
2002 - 2004 Kenan Gong